Anaheim Ducks

The Anaheim Ducks are a professional ice hockey team based in Anaheim, California. The Ducks were one of the six teams that joined the National Hockey League (NHL) in 1970, and have played their home games at the Honda Center since 1993.


The Ducks have been to the playoffs ten times, winning the Stanley Cup in 2007. In addition, they have won the Pacific Division six times and the Western Conference four times. The team has also won the Presidents’ Trophy, given to the NHL team with the best regular season record, three times. They have also made it to the playoffs eleven times, including a successive appearance from 2006 to 2007.


The Ducks were originally based in the city of Denver, Colorado. The franchise was founded in 1967 as the first expansion team in the newly founded NHL. After finishing last in their inaugural season, the team relocated to Anaheim the following year. The Ducks had their first major success in the 1970s, winning the Stanley Cup in the first season of their return to the league. The team continued to be successful in the 1980s and 1990s, making it to the playoffs every year from 1984 to 1997. However, Anaheim did not win a playoff series until they won the Stanley Cup in 2007.


Since the 2007 Stanley Cup victory, the Ducks have struggled to maintain their previous level of play. Injuries have been a major factor, as have off-season trades that have not worked out as planned. In the 2017–18 season, the Ducks finished in last place in the Pacific Division. However, they made it to the playoffs as the sixth and final seed, defeating the Calgary Flames in the first round.