New York Rangers

In 1917, the New York Americans of the National Hockey League (NHL) were founded. They were a league charter member and played their first three seasons at Madison Square Garden. The franchise relocated to Brooklyn in 1925 and became the Brooklyn Americans.


The Rangers joined the NHL in 1926. They were initially placed in the American Division but were moved to the new NHL Division I in 1929. The Rangers reached the Stanley Cup Finals in 1940 and 1941 but lost both times to the Toronto Maple Leafs.


In 1957, the Rangers relocated to Madison Square Garden and became the first NHL team to have their home arena rebuilt since the league’s return to Brooklyn. The team won the Stanley Cup in 1994.


The Rangers have won eight division titles and six conference championships. The franchise has produced numerous NHL players, including Jean Beliveau, Rod Gilbert, and Rick Martin.